Rangasamy College of Technologies in India. This is in addition to research collaborations with local institutions including the Medical Research Council (MRC), the National Institute for Communicable Diseases (NICD), the National Research Foundation (NRF), the Water Research Commission (WRC) and various other research institutions and universities. Mintek also regards participation in the European Union Framework research programmes as being a very attractive, long-term collaborative research opportunity since it provides access to an international research network and source of funding. We therefore welcome Government's commitment to research and development in the minerals and mining industry, which is demonstrated by an increase in funding. The review of the Mineral and Petroleum Resources Development Act (MPRDA) is also a welcome development. We are hopeful that such a review will go a long way to assist in the implementation of the government's beneficiation strategy while allowing Mintek to play a significant role in the drive to unlock South Africa's mineral wealth. Regrettably, the Board lost the services of three Board members during the year. Mr Paul White, the chairperson of the Board's technical committee passed away in November 2011 barely four months after his wife's death. Our heartfelt condolences go to his family. The Board also lost the services of Mr Mosa Mabuza and Ms Zethu Qunta, who resigned as members of the Board in February and October 2011 respectively. We acknowledge these three members' immense contribution to the fiduciary duties of the Board as well as to the overall success of Mintek during this year. We welcome two new Board members, Ms Setepane Mohale, who replaced Mr Mabuza as a representative of the Department of Mineral Resources and Mr Imraan Patel, who represents the Department of Science and Technology. Despite the loss of these three members' experience and other challenges, the Mintek Board continued to exercise its responsibilities effectively during the year ensuring that controls were in place for good governance. Our financial, audit, procurement and risk management processes remain sound, and, as such, we have received an unqualified audit opinion from the Auditor-General. In conclusion, I wish to thank the Minister of Mineral Resources, the Honourable Mrs Susan Shabangu, and her deputy, the Honourable Mr Godfrey Oliphant, for their political stewardship. The Board's gratitude also goes to the CEO as well as his executive management team who, together with the rest of the staff, have steered Mintek well towards its vision to be a global leader in mineral and metallurgical innovation while ensuring that it becomes a solid and successful organisation financially. Lastly, but not least of all, I wish to thank all the Board members for their diligence, endurance and commitment in executing their task. Mohau Mphomela Chairman of the Board, Mintek 5 chairman's overview mintek annual report 2012 Mintek Board Members 2011/12 (continued...) From left: Mr Paul Streng - Independent Management Consultant; Mr Imraan Patel - Deputy Director-General: Department of Science and Technology; Ms Setepane Mohale - Chief Director: Department of Mineral Resources; Mr Tseko Nell - Chief Economist: Department of Mineral Resources, Alternative Board Member; Mr Abiel Mngomezulu - President and CEO: Mintek.

You need to upgrade your Flash Player

You need to upgrade the version of your Flash Player to version 9 minimum.

Click here

Adobe Flash Player Download Center